‘Knowing or believing’

During one of my travels I had met a bunch of people, we started talking and then we decided to play a game introduced by this guy as the travellers game, a question was to be asked which would have 2 options and every one had to choose one option and reason his choice. We were 2 guys and 3 girls, none of us knew each other from before and interestingly we all were from different countries, different in our nature and culture. Thought the game to be a bit childish, but when we started playing it was insane how our intellect was tingled and how we were different from each other in our thoughts and perspective.

The first question shot was ‘stream or ocean’. 3 people chose ocean, describing it as the symbol of greatness and power, the size and magnitude, the unending and the Ocean’s take it all nature. It was interesting to see the way they compared ocean to life. The other guy chose stream as he felt that the stream had the ability to change and become a river while the ocean was too perfect. I too chose stream and reasoned that it was similar to our lives as it goes through ups and down, straight and turns, and it made its own path. What struck me was that the 3 girls chose ocean while we 2 guys chose stream. It was wonderful how we all were conceptualizing extempore ideas about the same things relating them to our own life.

There were questions like ‘melody or beat’, ‘love or lust’, if suicide was an act of ‘bravery or cowardice’, but the one which particularly struck me was a question by this girl ‘knowing or believing’. Every one chose knowing except Me. All of them had their reasons, kind of similar to each other. For them knowing was what made them believe. Knowing was the existent and factual part of life which made us do things correct and without the knowing belief was nonexistent. One of them actually chose both the options as for her both were interconnected and they together made us move in life.

It was my turn and I was on a fix, as I thought what everyone said did make sense. Afterall seeing was believing and the fact was always supreme. I chose Believing. If I didn’t believe before knowing then all my dreams would had been trash, the fantasies which were factually nonexistent were existing because I believed in them. For me it was the belief which gave me the zeal to know things. Its believing in things which gave me the kick and excitement, as without it the world would be all black and white as it is my belief which adds the colour to this factual world.

It was a wonderful experience to see how we all are unique in our own ways and how our thoughts made us different from eachother.

3 thoughts on “‘Knowing or believing’

  1. i would pick stream 🙂 because that is how life is. ever moving. seeing new things, meeting new people, leaving things behind. twists an turns, obstacles, thins and thicks 🙂 Ocean is more of settling down 🙂

    and I chose both. knowing and believing 🙂
    There is no end to knowledge. the more you know, the less it gets every passing moment 🙂
    and belief is just the other side of the coin.

    Belief is what keeps me going.

    I will wrap up with this statement: Future is unknown, but we have to believe it is going to all right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

